Clary sage, essential oil, regenerating

Clary sage essential oil

Clary sage essential oil is an aromatic extract obtained by steam distillation of the aerial parts of the plant. It has hormonal, calming and healing effects.

Clary sage

Clary sage (Salvia sclarea) is a biennial herbaceous plant, which measures between 50 and 120 cm in height. It has hairy, toothed leaves, and white, pink or mauve flowers, arranged in spikes. It is native to southern Europe and western Asia and has a grassy, ​​musky scent, and a colorless or yellowish color. It is distinguished from common sage (Salvia officinalis), a perennial sub-shrub, which measures between 30 and 80 cm in height. It has evergreen, oval, downy leaves, and blue, purple or pink flowers, arranged in whorls. It is native to the Mediterranean basin and Asia Minor.

Manufacturing of clary sage essential oil

The technique for making clary sage essential oil involves steam distilling the aerial parts of the plant, i.e. the leaves and flowers. The water vapor passes through the mass of plants and takes on their essence, then it is cooled in a coil and separated from the hydrosol in a Florentine vase. The clary sage essential oil is then found on the surface of the water, because it is less dense. Then you just have to collect it and bottle it.

Properties of clary sage essential oil

Clary sage essential oil has many beneficial properties for health and well-being. It is rich in Omega-3, monoterpenes, sesquiterpenes and diterpenes. The main components are linalool (42%), alpha-terpineol (13%), geraniol (6%), myrcene (3%) and sclareol 1.6 to 7%3. Linalool is one of the most used monoterpenes in the perfume industry.

Properties of clary sage essential oil on the skin.

Clary sage has a high content of linalool, a compound that gives it calming, anti-inflammatory, antiseptic and regenerative properties. It is particularly suitable for skin care, as it promotes healing, regeneration and elasticity of the epidermis. It is also useful for relieving stress, anxiety and sleep disorders.

  • Healing and regenerating skin, which allows it to promote the healing of wounds, burns, irritations or infections of the skin. It stimulates the production of collagen and elastin, and prevents skin aging.
  • Purifying. Clary sage essential oil helps cleanse the skin in cases of acne, eczema, psoriasis or mycoses. It eliminates bacteria, viruses and fungi responsible for skin infections.
  • Toning and firming, in case of sagging skin, wrinkles, fine lines or pigment spots. It improves blood circulation and skin elasticity

Other properties of sage

  • Hormonal regulator, which allows it to relieve disorders related to menstrual cycles, menopause, puberty or stress. It acts as a natural estrogen, which balances the female hormonal system.
  • Antispasmodic, which allows it to fight against muscle spasms, cramps, menstrual pain, headaches or digestive disorders. It relaxes the muscles and nerves, and promotes relaxation.
  • Invigorating and stimulating, which allows it to restore energy and vitality, in cases of fatigue, depression or reduced libido. It improves mood, concentration and memory, and strengthens the immune system.

Clary sage essential oil INCI name and functions

Salvia sclarea L.

    • Perfuming - Used for perfume and aromatic raw materials
    • Masking - Reduces or inhibits the odor or basic taste of the product

SOWÉ Botanic Lab's quality commitments

The organic clary sage essential oil we use is certified COSMOS by Ecocert

List of our products containing clary sage essential oil

Back to SOWÉ's ingredients list

Sauge sclarée, bio, ingredient, apaisant

Huile essentielle de sauge sclarée

L’huile essentielle de sauge sclarée est un extrait aromatique obtenu par distillation à la vapeur des parties aériennes de la plante. Elle a des effets hormonaux, calmants et cicatrisants.

La sauge sclarée

La sauge sclarée (Salvia sclarea) est une plante herbacée bisannuelle, qui mesure entre 50 et 120 cm de hauteur. Elle a des feuilles velues et dentées, et des fleurs blanches, roses ou mauves, disposées en épis. Elle est originaire du sud de l’Europe et de l’Asie occidentale et a un parfum herbacé et musqué, et une couleur incolore ou jaunâtre. Elle se distingue de la sauge officinale (Salvia officinalis), un sous-arbrisseau vivace, qui mesure entre 30 et 80 cm de hauteur. Elle a des feuilles persistantes, ovales et duveteuses, et des fleurs bleues, violettes ou roses, disposées en verticilles. Elle est originaire du bassin méditerranéen et d’Asie mineure.

Fabrication de l'huile essentielle de sauge sclarée

La technique de fabrication de l’huile essentielle de sauge sclarée consiste à distiller à la vapeur les parties aériennes de la plante, c’est-à-dire les feuilles et les fleurs. La vapeur d’eau traverse la masse de plantes et se charge de leur essence, puis elle est refroidie dans un serpentin et séparée de l’hydrolat dans un vase florentin. L’huile essentielle de sauge sclarée se trouve alors à la surface de l’eau, car elle est moins dense. Il suffit ensuite de la récupérer et de la mettre en bouteille.

Propriétés de l'huile essentielle de sauge sclarée

L'huile essentielle de sauge sclarée possède de nombreuses propriétés bénéfiques pour la santé et le bien-être. Elle est riche en Oméga-3, monoterpènes, sesquiterpènes et diterpènes. Les composants principaux sont le linalol (42 %), l'alpha-terpineol (13 %), le géraniol (6 %), le myrcène (3 %) et le sclaréol de 1,6 à 7 %3. Le linalol est un des monoterpènes les plus utilisés par l'industrie de la parfumerie.

Propriétés de l'huile essentielle de sauge sclarée sur la peau.

La sauge sclarée a une forte teneur en linalol, un composé qui lui confère des propriétés calmantes, anti-inflammatoires, antiseptiques et régénératrices. Elle est particulièrement adaptée pour les soins de la peau, car elle favorise la cicatrisation, la régénération et l’élasticité de l’épiderme. Elle est aussi utile pour apaiser le stress, l’anxiété et les troubles du sommeil.

  • Cicatrisante et régénératrice cutanée, ce qui lui permet de favoriser la guérison des plaies, des brûlures, des irritations ou des infections de la peau. Elle stimule la production de collagène et d’élastine, et prévient le vieillissement cutané.
  • Purifiante. L'huile essentielle de sauge sclarée permet d'assainir la peau, en cas d’acné, d’eczéma, de psoriasis ou de mycoses. Elle élimine les bactéries, les virus et les champignons responsables des infections cutanées.
  • Tonifiante et raffermissante, en cas de relâchement cutané, de rides, de ridules ou de taches pigmentaires. Elle améliore la circulation sanguine et l’élasticité de la peau

Autres propriétés de la sauge

  • Régulatrice hormonale, ce qui lui permet de soulager les troubles liés aux cycles menstruels, à la ménopause, à la puberté ou au stress. Elle agit comme un œstrogène naturel, qui équilibre le système hormonal féminin.
  • Antispasmodique, ce qui lui permet de lutter contre les spasmes musculaires, les crampes, les douleurs menstruelles, les maux de tête ou les troubles digestifs. Elle détend les muscles et les nerfs, et favorise la relaxation.
  • Tonique et stimulante, ce qui lui permet de redonner de l’énergie et de la vitalité, en cas de fatigue, de déprime ou de baisse de libido. Elle améliore l’humeur, la concentration et la mémoire, et renforce le système immunitaire.

Nom et fonctions INCI de l'huile essentielle de sauge sclarée

Salvia sclarea L.

    • Agent parfumant - Utilisé pour le parfum et les matières premières aromatiques
    • Agent masquant - Réduit ou inhibe l'odeur de base ou l'arôme d'un produit

Garanties de qualité SOWÉ Botanic Lab 

Nous utilisons de l'huile essentielle de sauge sclarée bio avec certification COSMOS par Ecocert

Liste de nos produits contenant de l'huile essentielle de sauge sclarée

Retour à la liste des ingrédients SOWÉ